Skilled Legal Representation In Social Security And SSI Disability Appeals

The 4 levels of disability benefits appeals

On Behalf of | Feb 3, 2020 | ssdi appeals

Those who are unable to earn a significant income due to their disability may be able to get disability benefits from the Social Security Administration (SSA). If you have already applied for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI/SSI), and you have received a denial, you may be feeling saddened and frustrated. You may not know what to do to improve your financial situation.

While many people who apply for disability benefits under the SSA are often unsuccessful when they first apply, the good news is that they are often successful when they file an appeal. This is why it is important that you are persistent in your approach and that you understand the four levels of disability appeals.


You can have your application decision reconsidered as the first step in your appeal. You can do this online in most cases, and you can check the status through your “my Social Security” account.

A hearing by a judge

A judge can give an objective view of your application because they had no part in the original determination. A judge can also properlly consider your symptoms such as pain or fatigue. You can request a hearing by an administrative law judge online.

A review by the Appeals Council

If your hearing decision was not satisfactory, you can file a request with the Appeals Council. They may decide on your case or return it back to an administrative law judge.

A federal court review

Finally, you can file an appeal with the federal courts if you want a final decision on your application.

In the majority of situations, after receiving their second denial, applicants will be successful by requesting a hearing,  providing more information, and seeking quality representation. If you are struggling to gain the disability benefits that you deserve, you must take swift action.